Q is for Questioning

Hello!  Welcome back!  I hope you are ready for the next blog post in the A to Z Blogging Challenge.  If you missed the last blog post, definitely go read that one.  Click here, or you will be very confused in reading today’s installment.

For this story, I am participating in the A to Z Blogging Challenge.  I felt that this was a really good opportunity for me to not only express my creativity, but challenge myself to building a very long story that could be cut up into multiple parts.  And for it all to make sense!  So if you want to follow along with other blog posts in the challenge, check the hashtag #AtoZchallenge to follow along.

This story would be categorized as Dark.  Thank you so much and I will see you tomorrow for the next installment.  Enjoy!

Q is for Questioning

#AtoZChallenge 2019 Tenth Anniversary badge

Tears streamed down her face as she felt the humiliation and embarrassment of the situation come over her.  She couldn’t believe she had actually been caught.  She had taken a risk to be more comfortable but it turned out to hurt her.  As Aspen was sat down in the back of the police car, she let out a cry.  But it wasn’t a cry of sadness, it was a cry of pain.

Aspen let the tears flow down her face as she sat in the car.  No matter how hard she had tried she had somehow still got caught.  Her face was buried in her hands and she couldn’t see where she was being taken.

The car came to a stop and Aspen was dragged out into the sun.  She was pulled into the police station and thrown onto the floor of a small interrogation room.   Her arms covered her head, almost as if she was trying to protect herself from an invisible being.  After staying on the floor for a minute, Aspen slowly lifted her body and moved into a chair at the table.  She sat there, praying that nothing would happen and she would somehow manage to go free.

The female officer who was at the motel walked into the room and sat down opposite from Aspen.  She smiled.  “Aspen Thompson.  Can I get you anything before we start?”

Aspen immediately recognized her voice as the one who was talking to her through the door.  She shook her head.  “No.  Unless you can let me go.”

The officer sighed.  “Unfortunately I can’t do that.  I’m sorry.”  She frowned.  “How long did you think you could hide?”

Aspen shrugged.  “Long enough to find people who could help me change my identity.  I had only been gone for a month, who knows what would’ve happened if I was gone for 6 months or a year.  Once I changed my name and it would’ve been a million times easier to hide out.”

The officer leaned forward, getting slightly closer to Aspen.  “So why did you do it?  Why did you run away?”

“Wouldn’t you?  If you had to opportunity to run away wouldn’t you do it?”

The officer shrugged.  “I don’t know.  If I knew I was safe I don’t think I would leave.  Especially prison.”

“Nah…I saw an opportunity and I took it.  I didn’t do anything wrong in the first place.  My trial was rigged, it was an accident.  I didn’t plan on murdering Jacob.  I didn’t plan on trying to get away with it.  I was planning on scaring him enough to have him change his manipulative ways.  I didn’t know the gun was loaded.”

The officer smirked.  “That’s what every guilty person says when they get brought in for questioning.”

Aspen slammed her hands on the table and stood up.  “I am not guilty!  I would never do something like this!  You can ask my family and friends!”  She felt the rage starting to boil up inside of her.  She didn’t know what this officer was implying, but she didn’t like it.  No matter what these people believed, she was not guilty.

Signature

4 thoughts on “Q is for Questioning

Leave a comment